5 Things I Learned By Sending My Son on a Mission Trip


5 Things I’ve Learned By Sending My Son on a Mission Trip


1. I have the most amazing son in the world.
Last night I watched some old videos we made together, and it brought me to tears at just how talented and brilliant a kid he is. I’m beginning to see how blind I’ve been – only seeing his messy room, or the chores he hans’t done. My son needs his Daddy’s encouragement more than his correction.

2. I don’t spend nearly enough time with my son. As my son was getting ready for his trip to Chile, I thought, “This will be good for him – he’ll learn something from the experience.” Little did I know, I’d learn something too. As my son is away, I miss those times of just hanging out with this amazing young man.

3. Ministering to people can never be more important that ministering to my son. I know this in theory, but sometimes my son can get the left-overs of my day. I know he must feel cheated and frustrated some of the time. My son will never be able to make sense out of the way this can make him feel. We have to make our kids feel special by demonstrating to them that they really are important.

4. Priorities can make or break a family. Paying more attention to my computer screen at home sends a strong message to my family, “I’d rather spend time with this than spend time with you.” I never want to convey that to my family. Work hard at work, then play hard at home. Never get those two things twisted.

5. Being a Father is one of the most awesome blessings in life. I would never trade my son for a billion dollars. In fact, it’s because I have a son is proof that I am blessed and rich indeed. My son is the greatest blessing I have in my life. In him I see my beautiful wife, my self, and I see a young man who is so handsome, strong, gifted, and who has wisdom far beyond his years. I feel a sense of honor and privilege that God Himself would choose me to be his Father.