Spiritual Sleepiness 101

I’m currently taking our Youth at King’s Cathedral through a series I’ve entitled, “Waking-Up Sleepy Christianity”.

Here’s some “Sleeping Statistics” for You…

  • If you’re between the age of 13-25, about half of you fell-asleep unintentionally this month.
  • If you’re between the age of 18-25, 5% of you fell-asleep while driving this month.
  • Did you know that you will sleep-away about a 1/3 of your life?

Other words for “Sleep”= Siesta, Shut-eye, Catnap, Nod-off, Power nap; Slumber, Take a snooze, or Crash.

Anyone here ever fall-asleep in Class, School? How about in Church? True story: My Pastor in Chicago told me a little story of when he was in High School. After school he got on the bus & happened to fall asleep. That wasn’t too bad except… his head eventually made it’s way over to the chest of the lady sitting next to him. He didn’t realize what was going on. As he slowly came to his senses, his face was right in the breast of a big black lady! He was so shocked & embarrassed he didn’t know what to do. But the lady said to him, (as she put her hand on the back of his head), “There, there, it’s ok, you just rest right here with Mama.”

But What is “Sleep”? Wikipedia:

  • Sleep is a naturally recurring state characterized by reduced or absent consciousness, relatively suspended sensory activity, and inactivity of nearly all voluntary muscles
  • But if I were to defineSpiritual Sleepiness I would say: it is spiritual state of being characterized by reduced (or completely absent) spiritual alertness. With it, there’s little or no spiritual activity. All spiritual progress comes to a screeching halt.

The Apostle Paul says, “It’s HIGH TIME to awake out of sleep!” [Rom. 13:11] “High Time” is the equivalent of it being 12-noon, when the sun is shinning it’s brightest!

Can you imagine someone being totally asleep outside, laying out under the blistering sun of summer? A little drool is starting to form. Face is totally sun-burnt. You’d think, “Whoa? What an idiot?!!” And yet this is the sad state of many Christians today. God says, “It’s time to wake-up!”

Where are you at today in your relationship with God today?
.

One thought on “Spiritual Sleepiness 101

  1. I will make this review short and sweet. I KNOW this book has changed my life for ever. I am a loving person a kind person a spiritual person. And I have been carrying 30 pounds on my body for so many years. I gain weight, then lose it. Gain it. Lose it. I know everything about nutrition. When I am in the groove, I eat so healthy. When I am not, I sabotage all previous efforts. But… this book has connected me to a deeper place, a spiritual place and a wonderful place of love. I think for the first time in my life I truly know what it means to love myself. And from this place of love and spirit and prayer, my life is changing forever. I am so grateful to Marianne Williamson for writing this book. I know it will help millions of people the way it has helped and is helping me. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

