Still Not Changed?

On the one hand, it’s amazing that God would speak from Heaven to man, and that he wouldn’t just fry like a battered chicken tossed into boiling oil. But on the other hand, it’s sad that God would speak to man, and yet he would still remain the same.

“…We have seen this day that God speaks with man; yet he still lives.” [Deu. 5:24]

Just a few verses later, the Lord says,

“Oh that they had such a heart in them that they would fear Me and always keep all My commandments, that it might be well with them and with their children forever!” (v. 29).

So, in effect He’s saying, “I’m speaking to you, and it seems like you’re receiving it, but when push comes to shove, your heart isn’t really in it; and I know you’re not going to obey me; and thus you’re disqualifying yourself to the blessing that I’m wanting to give, both you, and your children.”

I think of how many times I’ve heard God speak to me — at church, in my quiet-time, etc., but it still doesn’t change me. The Word came to slay my flesh, yet I walked away unscathed. Like Jeremiah says, “his scent has not changed.” [48:11]

Leave a Reply

