Would You Go to Hell for Someone?

“What a grim thought?!” Hold on, hold on… I didn’t think of it.

“I say the truth in Christ, I lie not, my conscience also bearing me witness in the Holy Ghost, That I have great heaviness and continual sorrow in my heart. For I could wish that myself were accursed from Christ for my brethren, my kinsmen according to the flesh.” (Romans 9:1–3, KJV)

As I read this verse this morning it actually brought tears to my eyes. ‘O such love! I’d venture to say that so one I know would be willing to go to Hell for anyone. I, myself don’t want to go to Hell – to somehow “pay the price” for someone to get to Heaven. But that isn’t the point, because Jesus, HImself, was already cursed for us, (Gal. 3:13). The apostle Paul is using extreme language to convey his great love for his people, Israel.

Check this out! In reading Acts 7 this morning, Stephen, that mighty servant, who was chosen by God to, not only serve tables, but to do miraculous signs and wonders, willingly gave himself to have rocks thrown at him for Christ. He even forgave them while it was happening, (Acts 7:54-60). You throw a rock at me, and my “Chicago” is gonna come out, and it’s not gonna be pretty! But ‘O what a heart in Paul and Stephen, to love those who simply don’t understand, and are blind to the love of God.

As I read Romans 9 this morning I thought of Kula, Upcountry, and Hawai’i, and great love began to fill my heart. But how can I have a heart like Paul, Stephen, and Jesus?

Here’s 4 quick things that might help you get that Love pumping:

1. BEGIN TO PRAY FOR OTHERS MORE IN MY PRAYER TIMES.
2. BEGIN TO WITNESS TO THE PEOPLE THAT YOU SAY THAT YOU LOVE.
3. MAKE A GOAL TO WITNESS TO AT LEAST ONE PERSON EVERY DAY.
4. BUY SOME GOSPEL TRACKS ON-LINE, AND ALWAYS HAVE THEM ON YOU.

If you have any other ideas, feel free to comment.

2 thoughts on “Would You Go to Hell for Someone?

Leave a Reply

