5 Things I’ll Miss about Evangel

people-of-evangel

1. Staff Devo’sdevos
When I came to Chicago I thought “Devo” was a band from the 80’s. Little did I know that these morning times would one of the things that brought our Staff together. Sometimes there was uncontrolled laughter, and other times – tears of truth. “9:15” will always remind me of those times. I’ll miss my Cindy and Ms. Virginia, who both made me smile and demonstated the fruit of the Spirit on a daily basis. I’ll miss Wesley’s worship and powerful insight into the Word, and Robin’s smile when I needed it most. I’ll miss Pastor Adrienne’s motherly care for us all, and Mr. Rudy’s “Energy-Drink” work-ethic, and of course I’ll miss Mr. Tony and Carmello for making Jesus real and by emulating His awesome Carpenter skills.

me-n-p.ray2. Pastor Ray
I never knew a “Pastor” could have so much fun, and still be so mightily used of God. I’ll miss his slaps on the back of my neck and all his stories like my favorite one, “Booker Brown”. I’ll miss the late nite calls just to talk about whatever was on our minds. I’ll miss him saying to me, “How yo Mama doin’?” But somehow I know he’s with this “unapologetically white” guy forever.me and pastor

me-n-evangelme-n-nellyme-n-adrienne3. Holy Spirit Moving & the Human-Chain
When the Spirit moved at Evangel no one had to announce it. Tears flowing, heart-wrenching praise altar-callascending – “When the praises go up…. the blessings come down!” And… I really did want to bust out in a crazy-praise and have a group of people form a human-chain around me so I wouldn’t hurt myself or inflict holy pain on others around me.

4. The Precious People of Evangel
Believe it or not I’ll really miss the wet kisses of George Garza. (If you’re an Evangel member… you know). I’ll miss Nelson saying, “Cool Beans” after everything I said & always making me laugh. My young people are 3-Rsforever in my heart and I’m going to miss them & all their crazy ways. I’ll really miss my Leaders. We were united, we served together, we were all changed together.me-n-leaders

5. The Celebration Choir & The Blood
I’ll miss seeing Deacon Jaime grinning from ear-to-ear in sheer joy. I ‘ll miss Leon throwing his jacket off in a sweaty shout while we’re all going crazy about to have a conniption fit right then and there. This Choir sure did get this white boy clapping… “the right way”. And I sure will miss Pastor Adrienne’s rendition of “The Blood”. Thank God I’ve got it on CD. Evangel’s music will surely be missed.

Evangel, I’ll never forget you!
ThaddSirme-n-jamilladevos-youth

5 thoughts on “5 Things I’ll Miss about Evangel

  1. Pastor Robb, this was awesome. The pictures were great. I’m sure that though nothing can or will compare to your time at Evangel, you will share great memories where God has placed you now. Bring the flava of Evangel to them there Hawaii peoples!!!!

  2. I agree with Lani- put some “Sweet Baby Ray Sauce” on Maui. Not too much now … they may not be able to handle it:) This was really great, and you guys are going to great things. We are praying for God to make the transition smooth and to give you strength for the work ahead of you:) See you guys next year… in faith.
    P.s. There are a bunch of us that are trying to organise this thing … so don’t be suprised if we show up next year … for real:)

    • Pastor Rob and Lokasi, You will miss all those things about Evangel, but Evangel will miss you guys a lot, I definetaly miss Lokasi sitting in the front row, I love her worship, that was such a blessing to me seein her from the choir stand. You guys really gave a lot to Evangel and you have a true servants heart. Hopefully I will be one of those going out to Maui, I’ve always wanted to visit Hawaii. Love you guys!!

Leave a Reply

