Feeling like a “spiritual-slacker”?

If you feel like you have been a “spiritual-slacker” lately then I’ve got just the thing that will revitalize your relationship with God!!

Starting this Friday we’re going on a 21-Day “DANIEL FAST”

JOIN THE 21-DAY FAST!!

A “Daniel Fast” is when you abstain from “Pleasant Food” [Daniel 10:3], and eat only fruit, vegetables, nuts, etc. [Just click on the link above and you’ll see a Bulletin at the bottom of the page with alot more info]. But someone once said…

“Drastic times require drastic measures.”

You don’t have to go the full 21 days. You can do a meal here and there, and perhaps the 2 week you can go a couple days. The point is to do something. “…deny yourself, take up your cross, and follow Jesus!”

You and I are living in a time where this world is literally collapsing around us, and if your heart isn’t strengthened, and if you aren’t as close to God as you think you are…. you won’t be able to make it. You say, “how absurd!?” Really? Jesus Christ, Himself – fully God, fully man went on a 40-Day Fast because He knew the severity of living in this sin-soaked world. If you & I don’t stand strong for Christ in the day-and-age that we’re living in we’re going to be swept off our feet with the ever-increasing tide of sin.

The time to stop it is now! It’s time for a change! Join our 21-Day Fast today!

Pastor Robb

4 thoughts on “Feeling like a “spiritual-slacker”?

  1. I believe there are many ways in which one can “deny oneself and pick up their cross” and it does not have to necessarily be through fasting. Carrying one’s cross means different things in different people’s lives and hearts. I don’t believe a person who fasts is any closer to God than someone who doesn’t, specially when they make sure everyone knows about it or if it becomes a ritual or a legalistic practice.

    For those who fast behind closed doors where no one can see and whose heart and motives are pure before God, I pray this will refine their character and draw them ever so close to God.

    Blessings,

    ransom33 @www.ransom33.wordpress.com

  2. Ransom33:: The meat of this post is not the “denying yourself” part, as much as it is the “Fasting” aspect of it. If I was writing a post on “Deny Yourself” and shared that “the only” way to do it was to Fast, I would be wrong. But in no way is what we’re doing “ritualistic” or “legalistic”. I think you should look up the meaning to those two words, because this is the first time our Youth has done something like this. If you would have taken the time to check out the link you would have seen that anyone can join, and there is a wide-open freedom to Fast a meal, a day, however the Holy Spirit leads – it’s in no way legalist.

    And as far as “fasting behind closed doors”… this is a corporate Fast. Joel 1:14 says, “Consecrate a fast, Call a sacred assembly; Gather the elders And all the inhabitants of the land Into the house of the Lord your God, And cry out to the Lord.” Joel 2:15 shouts… “Blow the trumpet in Zion, Consecrate a fast, Call a sacred assembly!” [NKJV] There is a time for personal Fasting [Matt. 6:16-18] where it’s secretive, but our Fast is like the Fast that Joel called for.

    But no matter how you look at it – as a Christian you must deny yourself, and Scripture declares that Prayer & Fasting are one of the ways our Lord broke the Devil’s back! [Matt. 4:1-4, 17:21].

  3. I am sorry if anything I said upset you. Please believe me when I say that that was not my intention and it was not meant personally to you or your church. It was merely an observation which I felt was worth putting in. as many Christians can beat themselves up about the fact that they have never fasted, and I believe that sometimes when others fast and go on about it, it can put people in bondage, because they feel condemned and guilty for not fasting themselves.

    I totally respect what you are doing or are about to undertake. I simply wanted to put across a point which the Bible explains so much better than I ever could.

    Matthew 6:16-18 declares, “When you fast, do not look somber as the hypocrites do, for they disfigure their faces to show men they are fasting. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. But when you fast, put oil on your head and wash your face, so that it will not be obvious to men that you are fasting, but only to your Father, who is unseen; and your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.”

    Giving up anything (any idol), not just food, that takes away our time with God will always bring us closer to Him. When we sacrifice our selfish desires for time spent in God’s presence, God always honours that.

    Thank you for allowing me to share my point of view in your blog.

    I hope the period of fasting will be a tremendous blessing for you all, and that all those who decide to take part, do so because they feel the Holy Spirit and not man, is calling or leading them to do so.

    ransom33

  4. Dear Ransom33:: It’s not a problem. I’m glad you shared on my blog [believe me!]. Thanks for sharing your view-point, and I do understand what you’re saying. I, for one, am not one of those people who will try to preach down on everyone for not Fasting. The Christian-Life is whole lot more than food, drink, but the kingdom of God is righteousness, joy, and peace in the Holy Spirit.

    Your point is quoting Matt. 6 doesn’t make sense to me though. You do know that I mentioned that in my last entry? In the Bible there are different kinds of Fasts. Our 21-Day Daniel Fast is not, [I repeat… is not] a Matt. 6 Fast. And if you read those verses carefully you will notice that Jesus was confronting MOTIVE in Fasting. The people He was speaking of were hypocrites. [That’s a pretty strong word, wouldn’t you say?] A hypocrite [in this context] is someone who is just putting on a show so that others will think they’re “spiritual”. And I don’t at all believe that you would be calling us that. But if you want to judge our motives, that’s your perogative. I don’t think that’s the case, but nonetheless I’ve shared my point.

    I do pray that you are strengthened in your walk with Christ today.

Leave a Reply

