Building a Devotional Refuge

Imagine yourself on an extended vacation. I mean, this is your ideal vacation. What would your hotel, hacienda, or luxury resort look like? This is going to be your special refuge, just for you. For me I’m imagining a real simple beach bungalow, where the roof is lined with palm branches, hammock hanging between two palm trees, simple bed, lots of windows, and a desk on the side so I can read. You get the idea. You want to go there right now, don’t you? Well, in the same way we need a spiritual refuge. Interestingly enough this “spiritual refuge” is something that is very easy to build. You might be thinking, “yeah, right. I hardly even pray that much.” I believe these four simple steps will open a Pandora’s Box, if you will, to new relationship with God.

1. COME TO THE CONCLUSION THAT YOU NEED A REFUGE.
• For some this is very simple. Life is pulling them down, they feel off-centered, and they are ready to re-engage their spiritual-life. For others… they’re running on steam, and pretty soon they’re going to burn-out.

2. CREATE YOUR IDEAL REFUGE
• Jesus spoke of going into your “prayer closet”.

“But you, when you pray, go into your room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in the secret place; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you openly.” [Matt. 6:6 NKJV].

• My personal “Refuge”, where I get alone with God, is usually in my office. There’s several things I have there: My Bible, favorite internet worship radio station or special playlist in iTunes of worship music, Journal and pen where I can write down things the Holy Spirit puts in my heart.

3. SCHEDULE TIME TO GO TO YOUR REFUGE
• This is where a lot of us miss it. We’ve got 3 or 4 Bibles, and our iPods are filled, but we somehow find it difficult to actually go to our special place to pray.
• You might say, “Yeah, sounds like a good idea, but I just don’t have time!” Could it be that you aren’t making time? We always have time for what’s important, whether it doing your nails, or watching your favorite TV show. It’s a matter of priorities. When you begin to see the amazing results of going to your Refuge you’ll want to go there more and more!

2 thoughts on “Building a Devotional Refuge

Leave a Reply

