Getting Out of “Maintenance Mode”

“Maintenance Mode”,we’ve all be there. Life seems like a grind, nothing really significant takes place, and you find yourself in a vicious circle. But how do you get out?

“Servants, do what you’re told by your earthly masters. And don’t just do the minimum that will get you by. Do your best. 23 Work from the heart for your real Master, for God, 24 confident that you’ll get paid in full when you come into your inheritance. Keep in mind always that the ultimate Master you’re serving is Christ.” Colossians 3:22-24 MSG

Before I was in the ministry full-time I started out as a Custodian in my Church in Seattle. Later on I got promoted to being a full-fledged “Maintenance Man“. The job of the Maintenance Man is basically to keep everything running. If something breaks you fix it. If the gutter gets clogged you clean it. Though it’s not a real glamorous job it is a very important job. Without the Custodian and the Maintenance Man the Church would be in shambles. But when the Pastor wants to expand the Church, or build a new addition, he doesn’t call the Custodian or the Maintenance Man he calls the Architects, Contractors, and Carpenters. Why? Because the Custodian and the Maintenance Man can only maintain what is already there.

If we’re not careful we can end up as “spiritual custodians” and “spiritual maintenance people” that just take care of the bare minimum. And so often we find ourselves only shooting for the bare minimum in a particular assignment. We may not say it, but we’re thinking, “What do I have to do here?” In “Maintenance Mode” we seldom challenge ourselves by thinking, “How can I do this with a spirit of excellence and actually take it to another level?” I was challenged by the Holy Spirit lately when I heard Him say to me, “I thought you weren’t a Maintenance Man anymore?” I was convicted because so often I am just maintaining. I juggle so many balls in “Maintenance Mode” that I’m actually surprised at how seldom one of the balls is dropped! But nonetheless, God hasn’t called me to be a clown – juggling balls and entertaining young people, He’s called me to advance the Kingdom of God. And if I really want to be effective at doing just that I need to get out of “Maintenance Mode”, and be like Jesus, and get into the “Carpenter Mode” and start building something that it going to last!

One thought on “Getting Out of “Maintenance Mode”

  1. This is great insight…we have to be purposeful in our pursuit of bringing the Kingdom of God to earth so that we don’t just get caught up in the day-to-day maintaining. I was listening to a Mike Bickle sermon just this moning and he said, “To keep ground with God you have to take ground.” If we aren’t continually building we will lose what we have already obtained.

    Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

