“Church Molesters”

So horrible and sick! This is happening in Churches around the world, and the Lord of the Church is about ready to lock somebody up!

Daily Bible Reading: 1 Cor. 15-16

SCRIPTURE

“For I am the least [worthy] of the apostles, who am not fit or deserving to be called an apostle, because I once wronged and pursued and molested the church of God [oppressing it with cruelty and violence]. 1 Cor. 15:9 AMP

OBSERVATION
In recent years there has been a dramatic increase of molestation. I’m not taking about priests, pastors or Sunday school workers. I am talking about those who are molesting the Church. The apostle Paul was once guilty of such a heinous crime. Back in the day he would do such cruel things to these kind saints. I wonder how many of us have forgotten just how bad we have been before we came to Christ. Even Paul here, after being used so mightily by God, stands his ground by saying, “I am the least [worthy] of the apostles, who am not fit or deserving.” Why is it that after awhile of being a part of the Church that we somehow think we deserve so many things? We used to be so grateful just to be saved. And yet after being saved for a few years and after attending Church Sunday after Sunday we begin to get a little rough around the edges, and then we spite the Church and, in a sense, “molest” it by our critical attitudes. We become “Church Molesters” by speaking against the way “they do” Church. We speak against our precious leaders that God has set in place, and thus we spear at the very heart of Christ and slap His innocent children in the back room of our griping sessions. If we’re not careful the Lord of the Church will incarcerate the “Church Molesters” and throw away the key.

APPLICATION
I am just amazed at the holy humility I see here in the apostle Paul. He is so real and transparent. He knows he doesn’t deserve the blessing of being apart of the ministry – the work of God. He seems to be living in such a way that he knows where he is going because he understands where he has comes from. This morning I want to remember all that God has done in my life and how grateful I am to be where I am. God doesn’t owe me anything. I’m fortunate to be alive, not to mention be in the ministry. I want to gain a new appreciating for the Church – God’s House and make sure I’m doing all I can to protect and stand up for her.

PRAYER
“Lord, I know I’m unworthy to be called by your holy Name. Please forgive me for taking your Holy Spirit for granted and for not maintaining the humility that I see the apostle Paul. No matter what others do or say empower me today to stand firm until the very end. Let me be a blessing, and not just seek a blessing. Fill me afresh today. Give me a new perspective. Anoint me with fresh Oil I ask. In Jesus’ Name I pray, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

