Prepared for Battle

So many today are not prepared for spiritual battle. Worse yet, those who are suppossed to be used of God to set others on fire are wasting their life.

Daily Bible Reading: 1 Cor. 12-14

SCRIPTURE
“For if the trumpet makes an uncertain sound, who will prepare himself for battle?” 1 Cor. 14:8

OBSERVATION
Though in the context Paul is talking about speaking in tongues it is a very interesting analogy that he uses. Here’s the deal. We have been called to fight the good fight of faith [1 Tim. 6:12, 2 Tim. 4:7]. We are not only called to be ready and prepared for battle, but we are commanded to prepare others! “Go through, Go through the gates! Prepare the way for the people; Build up, Build up the highway! Take out the stones, Lift up a banner for the peoples!” [Isaiah 62:10]. Isaiah 58:1 declares, “Cry aloud, spare not; Lift up your voice like a trumpet…” So, I am called to be ready and prepared for battle – fighting the good fight of faith as well as training others to do the same. My voice is actually to be like a trumpet. Think of that! Here’s the question. How clear is the sound coming forth from my mouth, and my life? How clean is that sound? Or is there any sound at all? A good way to gauge these questions is to ask myself, “are others around me desiring to fight the good fight of faith because of my life? If not, I need to see what kind of sound is coming forth from my life. Is it uncertain? If so, why? Is there insecurity? Is there sin? Does my trumpet need a little adjustment? Or do I just need to go back and learn to “play the trumpet” in the privacy of my own prayer closet?

APPLICATION
Before I preach to others I must first preach to myself. Before I prepare a message for people I need to prepare my heart before God. After I have does the necessary “heart maintenance” then (and only then) can the Holy Spirit begin to use my life for His glory. Once I have sincerely prepared my heart I had better use the trumpet of my life! There’s too many “silent witnesses” these days who sit around on Church chairs doing a whole lot of nothing. The Apostle Paul said with heart-wrenching tears… “woe is me if I do not preach the gospel.” [1 Cor. 9:16]. Wrench-out your heart here, or wrench it out on Judgment Day, but we must awaken ourselves to the signs of the times and rise up like never before to declare this glorious good news of the gospel of our precious Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. It’s all or nothing. Are you ready to start preparing for battle?

PRAYER
“Lord, I feel a sense of urgency. Too long I have been sitting around polishing the trumpet, but not blowing the trumpet. I’ve been “blowing it” in the flesh, but haven’t yet understood just how crucial my role is in your Kingdom. Help me today to be re-awakened to be prepared for the battle – to fight the good fight of faith. Today I take hold of Eternal Life. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

