Re-Establishing Priorities

Have you ever felt like your priorities are out of whack? Then you’re not alone, because millions of us are in the same boat.

“Therefore I run thus: not with uncertainty. Thus I fight: not as one who beats the air.” 1 Cor. 9:26

Here the Apostle Paul is sharing how he lives the Christian Life – not with uncertainty, hesitation, insecurity or vagueness. He runs and then he fights. It seems to me that someone who is running most likely knows where they’re going. Now, might be a marathon runner that would say, “Uh, I’m not sure about this.” But those who are serious, determined, and well-trained have a fire in their eyes. They know why they’re running. These kinds of people are unstoppable.

Many times I find myself having to “battle” certain situations, but I feel as though I’m hardly even running, let alone walking strong. How can I win like this? I’m reminded of Watchman Nee’s book on Ephesians, Sit, Walk, Stand. There is a progression in the Christian Life that cannot be side-stepped. I feel I need to come back to re-establish the order of the Spirit. Jeremiah 12:5 comes to mind:

“If you have run with the footmen, and they have wearied you, Then how can you contend with horses? And if in the land of peace, In which you trusted, they wearied you, Then how will you do in the floodplain of the Jordan?” NKJV.

If I get tired just jogging in my daily schedule how will I handle anything else? I feel I need to take a breath and get rested in my spirit. I need to be re-tuned in prayer. I need to re-establish my priorities.

“Lord, I come to you today seeking to do things in order. So often I’m rushing ahead where you are not leading. I’m like Martha – busy, busy, busy, but accomplishing very little. My Love-level is dry because I have not sat before you like Marry. Lord, help me today to seek first the Kingdom of God. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

2 thoughts on “Re-Establishing Priorities

Leave a Reply

