Getting Back Into Focus

Glazed eyes and spiritual dizziness needs to be stopped! The perfume of the flesh cannot be matched with the extraordinary fragrance of His Presence.

SCRIPTURE

Jeremiah 48:10-11 “Cursed is he who does the work of the Lord deceitfully, And cursed is he who keeps back his sword from blood. 11 “Moab has been at ease from his youth; He has settled on his dregs, And has not been emptied from vessel to vessel, Nor has he gone into captivity. Therefore his taste remained in him, And his scent has not changed.”

OBSERVATION
Being honest before God I feel I’ve allowed some things to settle. Someone on the outside might say, “But you look fine! In fact it seems like you’re on-fire for God.” But as they say, “the nose knows.” And Jeremiah says, “his scent hasn’t changed.” In other words God is saying… “You ain’t smelling like a rose to Me!” This Scripture has always had incredible life-changing significance to me in difference seasons of my life. It just keeps coming back to me as if to slap, and re-slap me in the face. The Holy Spirit wants to pour me from “vessel-to-vessel”.

• From mere “prayer” to intimacy.
• From a “half-hearted container” into the cup of the zeal of the Lord
• From the “gotta-do-it Styrofoam cup” to the golden chalice of “it’s my honor to serve you, Lord.”

APPLICATION
My habit is to use a 1-hour prayer frame as a general marker to be reached everyday, nothing “special” – just a starting point. It’s not to earn God’s favor, but to merely place myself in a locked-in time frame where I give the Holy Spirit time to change me. “Could you not tarry one hour.” I guess I’ve gotten busy the last week and a half. Ministry trip, Church, meetings, paperwork, being tired, family… the list goes on and on. But still Jesus sits by Himself wondering what happened to the tears I shed in prayer for more of Him. It’s time to get back to my prayer commitment. It’s time to get back to looking over and revising my life’s mission statement, and setting new goals. It’s time to pursue, overtake, and recover all!

PRAYER
“Lord,. I come to you this morning ashamed. I know it’s not what you want for me, but I know it’s better than living in the smell of apathy. My present condition is nothing of intentional sin, but rather of neglecting my “so great a salvation”. Scheduled, business, and even ministry – I myself take full responsibility for allowing them to overwhelm me. Please forgive me today. Empower me to get back into focus, and to rise-up to be the man of God that you’ve called me to be. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

