Caught Drooling…

Have you ever been caught drooling? How embarrassing! But before the “drool” is the “signal”. I wonder how many Christians today are “signaling” without even knowing it.

Daily Bible Reading: Matt. 23-28

SCRIPTURE “While the bridegroom tarried, they all slumbered and slept. And at midnight there was a cry made, Behold, the bridegroom cometh; go ye out to meet him.” Matthew 25:5-6 KJV

OBSERVATION
Most believers know about the 10 Virgins, and how that 5 were wise, and 5 were foolish, and that we should be like the 5 wise virgins, (obviously). But, this morning I saw something: “They ALL slumbered and slept”. These are actually 2 different words. “Slept” is= totally asleep. But the other word, “Slumbered” actually comes from 2 words= 1) Nodding, and 2) signaling. Have you ever seen someone beginning to nod off? They’re signaling to everyone, “Look at me, I’m exhausted! And I’m about to fall asleep.” Well, in these Scriptures even the “wise virgins” were caught drooling. Have you ever been caught drooling? How embarrassing! But before the “drool” is the “signal”. I wonder how many Christians today are “signaling” without even knowing it. As they hold on to the “pillow” of their secret sin the drool of a cold and indifferent heart is like a screaming ambulance signal in Heaven, and… in Hell.

APPLICATION
It also mentions that there was “a cry made”. This is amazing, because even though we might be drooling on our pillow of slothfulness still the Holy Spirit is trying to get our attention. He could just let us settle on our dregs at the darkest moments of our life, but He intrudes with His own signal! His strong desire is for us to be fully awake, fully filled with Oil, ready to do the will of God, and ready to meet the Lord in Heaven at any moment. We need to hear the signaling cry of the Holy Spirit today.

PRAYER
“Lord, let me not slumber, let me not nod off in my spiritual walk with You. I don’t want to be caught drooling in apathy when You come. I want to be fully awake – busy doing Your will. I also pray that not only would I be awake, but that You would use me in this generations to cause others to be awakened! In Jesus’ Name I pray, Amen.”

2 thoughts on “Caught Drooling…

Leave a Reply

