We are the Hidden Treasure!

Have you ever thought much about the Parable of the Hidden Treasure? You might be surprised at the way I see it.

Daily Bible Reading: Matthew 11-13

SCRIPTURE

Matthew 13:44 “Again, the kingdom of heaven is like unto treasure hid in a field; the which when a man hath found, he hideth, and for joy thereof goeth and selleth all that he hath, and buyeth that field. KJV

OBSERVATION
What exactly is the Parable of the Hidden Treasure about? Many have said that the “Treasure” is Jesus, and that we are the ones who sell everything [spiritually speaking] in order to buy the field. Jackie Pullinger, who ministers to Hong Kong’s drug addicts and prostitutes, says that when she reads this particular Scripture to those who have just come out of the streets to Christ, she asks them a simple question: “What do you think the treasure is?” Without exception each ones says, “I’m the treasure!”
See, in reality the Holy Spirit reveals to us the WE are the treasure, and Jesus is HE who left Heaven, and sold everything in order to buy us! We are that precious to God! When a new soul feels the love of God for the first time- immediately they sense they are treasured by God.

APPLICATION
I wonder if we really understand the incredible worth that God places upon us? Have we really grasped the fact that Jesus left Heaven to come to this dirty, sinful world to purchase and redeem us? When I see this parable in this light it makes me want to worship God with all my heart, because I’m responding to the value He places on me, and I’m not trying to initiate the relationship by sacrificing everything I have for Him. I realize He sacrificed everything to have me.

PRAYER
“O what Love the King of the Universe demonstrated in coming to this world to die upon the Cross! Lord, I see afresh that you value me as treasure. Let me walk today in such a way that I reflect that value towards You – in my devotion and in loving those around me. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

If you’re interested in listening to some of Jackie Pullinger’s messages: They’re here.

2 thoughts on “We are the Hidden Treasure!

  1. DUDE, THAT HIT THE TARGET DEAD-ON. IT’S AWESOME HOW WE AS GOD’S CHILDREN HAVING ALL THE SAME FATHER(GOD) ARE IN ONE ACCORD. PEACE & BLESSINGS.

Leave a Reply

