“Lord, Push the Re-set Button!”

Don’t you just wish that life was as easy as pushing a Re-set button? Well, there is such a thing, and the answer is found in one little verse tucked-away in the New Testament, and Jesus shows us the way!

Daily Bible Reading: Matt. 5-7

SCRIPTURE

“And seeing the multitudes, he went up into a mountain: and when he was set, his disciples came unto him.” Matthew 5:1 KJV

OBSERVATION
The phrase that sticks out to me this morning is, “WHEN HE WAS SET…” Of course this just means that Jesus SAT DOWN, but is that all that it means? When runners are running the 100 yard dash, before they take off they hear the proverbial, “On your mark, GET SET……. GO!” Here Jesus was positioned and ready for His disciples to come to Him. I’m not sure if the Father would have let the disciples come to Jesus if He wasn’t ready. Someone might say, “that’s absurd?!” But Jesus was in preparation for the Father’s will for 30 years. So, there was some waiting that Jesus had to endure, but after he had been trained, prepared and SET – then it was time to touch lives and do the will of God.
I also love the fact that it all started with a vision:

“And seeing the multitudes, he went up into a mountain.”

Jesus was a person who really SAW people; He wasn’t just concerned with His own life. And secondly that vision took Him up! It took Him up the Mountain of Prayer. How can I be “SET” and ready to minister without seeing the needs of the people, and then sacrificing myself to really pray for them? VISION, PRAYER, POSITIONING, and then FRUIT-BEARING!

APPLICATION
There is something so complete in this one verse. I feel I need to be RE-SET this morning, and to have a fresh vision of Love for people, and that it would propel me to the Mountain of Prayer to intercede. I feel if I can do these two things that the SET POSITION that I need will come, and thus the fruit will come. It’s that position of the heart that endures, loves, overcomes, and conquers that will inevitably bring about incredible fruit for the King of Kings! “Lord, push the Re-Set Button!”

PRAYER
“Lord Jesus, I pray this morning that I might have a fresh vision of Love for people, and for that Love to bring me to the Mountain of Prayer. Establish me in Your Love and Truth. Let me be positioned and set. Help me not run around like a chicken with its head cut off – accomplishing nothing. Let me sit down and listen to Your Words and receive all the strength that I need to accomplish Your holy will, in Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

