Why ‘You So Jealous?!!

Have you ever had someone who was so jealous about you? Did it drive you nuts, or did it awaken something on the inside of you to realize your own value as a person?

Daily Bible Reading: Josh. 19-24

SCRIPTURE

“And the LORD drove out from before us all the people, even the Amorites which dwelt in the land: therefore will we also serve the LORD; for he is our God. And Joshua said unto the people, Ye cannot serve the LORD: for he is a holy God; he is a jealous God; he will not forgive your transgressions nor your sins. Joshua 24:18-19 KJV

OBSERVATION
This isn’t necessarily the kind of message that you’d think Joshua would share with the people of God – not too encouraging. Basically the people are saying, “We’ll serve the Lord!” and Joshua is saying, “No you won’t.” Why would Joshua be so confrontational? Joshua knew that the people of God were still holding on to the gods of their past and certainly weren’t volunteering to get rid of them. Joshua wanted them to get right with God, but he knew that their hearts weren’t right, and thus they were not going to experience all the goodness that God had planned for them.

APPLICATION
I wish I could really understand that incredible revelation that God is a jealous God. Most of the time it’s easy to think that God isn’t really all that interested in my affairs, but ‘O to understand that He is a jealous Lover who wants to spend time with me and to bless me – that would change a lot of my warped preconceptions of God. Because if I understand this concept of God being a jealous God it will enable me to get rid of anything that will hinder my walk with Him. As I rid myself of these things I position myself to both, love and serve God!

PRAYER
“Lord, help me today to see just how jealous you are of my soul. Forgive me for allowing other things to get in the way of a pure 1-on-1 relationship that has to potential to revolutionize my entire life. I desire to follow you today. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

2 thoughts on “Why ‘You So Jealous?!!

Leave a Reply

