Standing Beside My Savior

So many today are standing by politicians, standing by sports heroes and rock stars, but who is willing to stand beside the Savior, Who’s name is Jesus?

Daily Bible Reading: Josh. 10-18, Ps. 22, Is. 53

SCRIPTURE

And they crucified him, and parted his garments, casting lots: that it might be fulfilled which was spoken by the prophet, They parted my garments among them, and upon my vesture did they cast lots. Matt. 27:35 KJV

OBSERVATION
Today is Good Friday. Even now I can’t get it out of my mind that 2000 years ago my Precious Lord was hanging on a filthy Roman Cross. If it wasn’t enough for them to nail him to a cross they had to strip him naked too? What kind of shame did Jesus bear for me! Still today Jesus is being mocked and stripped, but the average person is simply walking past him with a smirk on their face. But ‘O how I want the Crucifixion of Christ to have a deeper meaning for me, personally. Isaiah is bold in standing beside the Savior when he said, “Who hath believed our report? And to whom is the arm of the Lord revealed? And who shall declare his generation? Isaiah 53:1, 8. I want to stand up and say, “I will! I believe!”

APPLICATION
Though Atheists and Agnostics abound, and people are chanting for an Anti-Christ society – I’m still going to stand by my Savior from Nazareth. Though many may laugh at me as I carry my Bible I’m going to stand by my Savior who wrote that Book, for He was beaten ruthlessly, and died for me. There isn’t anyone else who’s done that for me. If I could be there at the Cross in Jerusalem today I would be like Mary Magdalene and I would kiss His mighty feet. I would hold His battered Body and cry till I had no tears left. For He loved me when I was hammering the nails into His hands and feet. I will never be the same.

PRAYER
“Lord Jesus, today I remember what You did for me. How can words be sufficient to convey how much Your Sacrifice means to me? I want to stand beside You till the very end. I want to declare Your generation to everyone in this world! I want to glorify and honor Your Holy Name for all eternity. Grant Your servant to stand beside you in this world. Let me be found faithful to the very end. In Your Precious Name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

