The Word= Life!

Is my Bible dusty? Is my Bible… where is my Bible? Or is my Bible well-worn, because of constant use?

Daily Bible Reading: Deu. 31-34

SCRIPTURE And He said to them: “Set your hearts on all the words which I testify among you today, which you shall command your children to be careful to observe–all the words of this law. For it is not a futile thing for you, because it is your life, and by this word you shall prolong your days in the land which you cross over the Jordan to possess.” Deu. 32:46-47

OBSERVATION
This Scripture speaks volumes. At the end of Moses’ life he finally came to the conclusion that the Word was equivalent to life. This was a very personal matter to Moses, because it was disobedience to the Word that finally sentenced him to a premature death. If Moses would have obeyed the Word at the waters of Meribah he would not be experiencing death, he would have be experiencing life! Milk and honey would have been his portion. Could obedience to the Word really be all that of a big deal?

APPLICATION
God Word isn’t a “futile”, or just a bunch of empty words. God’s Word is my very life. That’s what the Scripture says. Could it be that many times the reason I don’t feel so “alive” is because there’s not enough of God’s Word within me giving me life? In vs. 46 God says, “Set your hearts on all the words…” Sometimes I wish I could set my heart like I set my alarm clock. It would be so easy. But… is it that hard either? How I long to walk in a constant understanding that God’s Word is my life, and that if I walk in a “constant obedience” to the Word I shall walk in life.

PRAYER
“Lord, it’s my prayer today that I would walk according to Your Word. Though it rubs my flesh the wrong way I am beginning to understand that Your Word comes to convict and heal. O Lord, let Your Word enter into my spirit today and bring life! In Jesus’ Holy Name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

