The Devil is Looking for Stragglers!

Look out… the Devil is looking for somebody. Who is it though? Could it be you? Could it be me?

Daily Bible Reading: Deu. 14-26

SCRIPTURE

“Remember what Amalek did to you on the way when you had come forth from Egypt, How he did not fear God, but when you were faint and weary he attacked you along the way and cut off all the stragglers at your rear. Deu. 25:17-18 AMP

OBSERVATION
Amalek is a type of the Enemy in the Old Testament, and he’s looking for stragglers! What are “stragglers”? The dictionary defines them as:

Those who stray from the road or course; those who wander from marching in line; those who roam about in a scattered fashion.

I think this is why God said, “Remember…”. When I forget how sneaky the Devil is I begin to slack off in my spiritual disciplines. When I forget how good God has been to me I inadvertently put my spiritual-walk into “cruise control”, and I end up as “Devil’s Food”!

Then the Devil says, “Ah, that was a piece of cake! Who’s next?”

APPLICATION
To me, this is why my personal devotional life is so important. If I neglect to spend time with the Lord each day I am inadvertently becoming a straggler. But when I set aside time and allow God’s Word to fill me up each day, and when I have given Him an opportunity to surround me with His Presence, it’s then that I find that I have a greater desire to “run the race” [Hebrews 12:1], and not lag behind where the enemy can pick me off.

PRAYER
“Lord, it’s my desire today to not get behind You, nor try to get ahead of You, but help me to remember how the enemy operates and how great Your ability is to keep me in the race. Thank You for this time with You today, In Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

