Getting Under the Spout!

Spiritual dryness can seen overwhelming, but when the Grace of God comes in it’s own special way it does something special.

Daily Bible reading: Acts 13-15

SCRIPTURE

“Now when the congregation was broken up, many of the Jews and religious proselytes followed Paul and Barnabas: who, speaking to them, persuaded them to continue in the grace of God. And the next sabbath day came almost the whole city together to hear the word of God.” Act 13:43-44. KJV

OBSERVATION
There is a hunger in the land! The people of Antioch weren’t returning back to “Church” to hear about rules and regulations. No way. Nearly the whole city got excited about two things: 1) The Grace of God. And 2) Listening the Word of God. Even when I think about my own life – when Grace comes it’s so refreshing. When I realize that God isn’t saying, “Do! Do! Do!” and that Grace and the Word keeps on saying, “It’s Done! It’s Done! It’s Done!” …my heart leaps for Joy, and I keep running back wanting to hear more. Grace has such a magnetic pull that persuades even the toughest heart.

APPLICATION
To me it seems that Paul and Barnabas were men who were not only good at declaring the Grace of God, but were also experts at receiving the Grace of God. If I want to see these kinds of results I need to be skilled at the art of receiving. I remember Chuck Smith once saying, “I’m under the spout where the glory comes out.” If I’m so full of the glory of Grace then what’s going to come out? Grace and Glory!

PRAYER
“Father, I come to you this morning with a fresh excitement to be immersed in Thy Grace and Glory! Show me how to get under the spout where the Glory comes out. And show me how to lead others to the Fountain of Loving Water where their deepest needs can be met. Fill me afresh and bring me into a new season, O Lord, that I may e used of You to bring in others to their new season, in Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

