Preaching THROUGH Jesus!

Are you communicating the right way? Is it the way Jesus would do it, or does your preaching have the taste of plastic to it?

Daily Bible reading: Acts 4-6

SCRIPTURE

And as they spake unto the people, the priests, and the captain of the temple, and the Sadducees, came upon them, Being grieved that they taught the people, and preached through Jesus the resurrection from the dead.
Acts 4:1-2 KJV

OBSERVATION
In the context are the religious rulers, who are very upset that Peter and John have caused a commotion in the Temple. They were used by God to heal a lame man, and the people in “Church” that day were blown away. But what really sticks out to me is what these religious leaders noticed about Peter and John’s method how that they “taught the people, and PREACHED THROUGH JESUS.” I remember scaring my little sister when we were growing up. I snuck up behind her while she was on the couch watching TV, and I reached under her blanket and grabbed her arm THROUGH the blanket. She didn’t see me grabbing her – she only saw the blanket grabbing her! And yes, she was a little upset too. Here Peter and John grabbed this lame man THROUGH Jesus! I wonder how many of today’s sermons are merely “preaching ABOUT Jesus”, but are not communicating THROUGH the character, nature and power of Jesus? I want to preach THROUGH Jesus!

APPLICATION
Like never before I want to be one who touches people through Jesus. If this type of ministry doesn’t take place I will preach THROUGH my self, and it tends to leave people with a bad taste in their mouth. When you give someone a drink of water you want them to taste the water – not the plastic cup it is served in. I really want to make sure I’m being led by the Spirit, and not merely doing things by rote.

PRAYER
“Lord, teach me how to live THROUGH You, and merely just talk ABOUT You or live FOR You. May I go through Your tunnel of grace to touch lives. Let me do things through Your strength and ability. Let me see Your glory today, in Jesus’ Name I pray, Amen.”

5 thoughts on “Preaching THROUGH Jesus!

  1. I agree. A lot of churches these days are focused on who the minister is instead of the One they should be preaching about. I have tasted to e”cup” at my church several times!

  2. Pastor Robb,

    I love this site so much. The pictures are so vibrant and the blog looks so well organized. You are such an awesome man of God and your writing is superb. I always see the fire of God in you and hear him in your words so keep going forward.

    Many Blessings,
    ~Daschell

Leave a Reply

