Unashamed Gangland

gang4.jpg

In last nite’s episode of Gangland the Lord spoke to me about something…

Daily Bible reading: Proverbs 9, Ps. 24-25

SCRIPTURE
O my God, I trust in thee: let me not be ashamed, let not mine enemies triumph over me. Yea, let none that wait on thee be ashamed: let them be ashamed which transgress without cause. Psa 25:2-3

OBSERVATION
Last nite I watched a crazy episode of Gangland. It always amazes me just how bold and brazen these criminals have become. One of the 16 year olds who was being charged for 1st Degree Murder smiled as if it wasn’t even a big deal. He walked into a restaurant and shot a man and then ran out with 3 of his friend. Murder and “transgression without cause”, is how the Bible says it is. How can these people be so unashamed of their crimes, and yet so many of us Christians are ashamed to stand-up for our faith? These guys are willing to take a bullet or go to prison for life, for what? In the end it’s Hell. But us, Christians? We’re afraid to say “Merry Christmas!” or “God bless you”, or “I’m praying for you.” What’s wrong with this picture? I really get tired of Mamby-Pamby “Christianity”. Let these criminals be ashamed of themselves! Let the drug dealers apologize! Let those who transgress without cause re-pay 7-fold and repent of their satanic ways! If I sound a little harse – maybe it’s because David the Psalmist was a little upset too. I think it’s time for Christians to get a little backbone in them, and stop walking of egg shells in a world that’s in such desperate need of help.

APPLICATION
Perhaps it’s a mindset that needs to be adjusted on a daily basis. David said, “let THEM be ashamed!” It’s time to stand! It’s not the time to turn into “Hell-Fire and Brimstone” believers, not to hide in our closets, but I do believe it’s time to stand up for what we believe in. Some won’t name of the Name of Jesus, because they’re afraid they don’t know enough of the Bible. Do you know that Jesus saved you? Do you know what He did for you? That’s enough. No one can discount what He did for you! Why hide it? Jesus said that we’re to proclaim it from the housetops! Don’t be ashamed! Never!

PRAYER
“O Lord, in the midst of a wicked and perverse generation – let me shine as a light. Let me be unashamed of the Gospel and the power of God! Let boldness ooze out of my bones because of the greatness of Your majesty and the Fire of Your Love! Let others be ashamed of themselves, but not me. Let me light a fire of deliverance in this world that will set the captives free! In Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

