Coming Out of the Closet

Are you a “Closet Christian”? Does anyone around you see that Jesus is real in your life, or do you merely keep your faith to yourself? Perhaps it’s time to come out of the closet!

Daily Bible reading: Exodus 28-31

SCRIPTURE

And thou shalt make a plate of pure gold, and grave upon it, like the engravings of a signet, HOLINESS TO THE LORD. And thou shalt put it on a blue lace, that it may be upon the miter; upon the forefront of the miter it shall be.
And it shall be upon Aaron’s forehead…” Exo 28:36-38

OBSERVATION
Here Aaron was to wear this engraving, HOLINESS TO THE LORD, on this hat, called a Miter. I couldn’t help but think of what it would be like if God required Born Again believers to wear a similar hat everywhere we went. Or what if God made you get that tattooed on your forehead! Just imagine going into a store to get a candy bar. The person at the cash register looks at you with a bit of a puzzled look – no doubt thinking, “Hmm? So he’s into the Lord or whatever….” But there would be no way of hiding that we belong to the Lord! It would make us more confident to stand up for our faith. It would make us more consecrated in our walk with God. It would keep us from going places and doing things that the Lord wouldn’t want us doing or going. “Closet Christianity” would be unheard of! All of God’s people would be the strong witnesses that we have been called to be!

APPLICATION
How I need to realize that, though I may not wear of physical hat or tattoo signifying my faith in the Lord, I am to walk in this world as if I did. God has called us to be holy. “Because it is written, Be ye holy; for I am holy”, 1 Pet. 1:16. Could it be that we aren’t as set-apart for God as we’re supposed to be, and perhaps that’s the reason we live in constant defeat? No love, no power, no presence of God in our everyday life? The Bible does have good news though! “Now thanks be unto God, which always causeth us to triumph in Christ, and maketh manifest the savor of his knowledge by us in every place”. 2Cor. 2:14. As the Lord gives us small victories in our life – they begin to add up! And then holiness begins to manifest, and it’s almost like a sweet savor – a fragrance that shows the world that there is hope, and that God loves them, and that you and I have been sent by the Holy Spirit to bring them that hope! Why hide it? Why stay in the closet? It’s time to go forth bearing the Name of the Lord!

PRAYER
“Lord, I want to ask You to forgive me. There’s many times when I walk into a store or am out doing my own thing and I don’t realize that You have called me to bear Your Name, and that I’m to be holy – set-apart for You. Help me to see that to the degree that I am set-apart for You is the degree that others will experience the life You want to give them through the Holy Spirit in me. I give You my heart afresh this morning. Thank You for speaking to me today. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

