What You Build is Where You’ll Live


“What’s the big deal? God understands. I’m not superman or something? Nobody’s perfect.” Have you ever made excuses, but found that in the end it didn’t help you?

What You Build is Where You’ll Live
Daily Bible reading: Exodus 16-27, Ps. 17-23, Pro. 1-8

SCRIPTURE

And let them make me a sanctuary; that I may dwell among them. According to all that I show thee, after the pattern of the tabernacle, and the pattern of all the instruments thereof, even so shall ye make it. Exo 25:8-9 And there I will meet with thee, and I will commune with thee from above the mercy seat, from between the two cherubims which are upon the ark of the testimony, of all things which I will give thee in commandment unto the children of Israel. Exo 25:22

OBSERVATION
There’s a story of an old carpenter who was ready to retire, and his boss said, “I want you to build me just one more house before you retire.” The carpenter wasn’t all that enthusiastic about it, so he cut corners and didn’t do the best job that he could. He just wanted to get it over and done with. As he told his boss that he was finished – the boss did something unheard of. He reached in to his pocket and gave his faithful employee the keys to the brand new home and said, “you’ve been so faithful all these years I wanted to give you something very special.” Who knew that when he was building this house that he would end up living in it? I’m sure if he had known that it was going to be his he would have, no doubt, done a much better job.

APPLICATION
In our Scriptures this morning God told Moses, in effect, “Moses, build me a house, and what you build I will meet with you there.” I hardly doubt Moses did a shoddy job. Why? Because the Lord was going to meet him there. I’m coming to realize that day-by-day I am building a Devotional-Life, a Prayer-Life. If I don’t build it well still the Lord is going to meet me there. Perhaps though, if am not diligent about it, could it be that the welcome won’t be as special as it could be? If I was inviting the King of Tonga over to my house how bad would it be if I didn’t clean my house and make it as special as possible? But if I took special means to make the best preparations, when he arrived I would be very excited, and not ashamed.

PRAYER
“O Lord, I want to build You a spiritual sanctuary so that each day I may welcome You there. If my prayer-life hasn’t been all that special perhaps I have been neglecting my spiritual house where You meet with me. Help me to understand today that what I build is where You’ll meet with me. I don’t want to be ashamed. I want to be excited about my relationship with You. I look to You today, In Jesus’ Name. Amen.”

Leave a Reply

