Deal With It First Thing!

Are you a procrastinator in dealing with problems? Do you avoid problems and confrontation? In my devotional this morning we’ll see how to deal with stuff right off the bat, and how to practically do it.

Devotions for January 10, 2008
Deal With It First Thing!
Pastor Robb Gorringe
Daily Bible reading: Exodus 9-11

SCRIPTURE “And the LORD said unto Moses, Rise up early in the morning…” Ex. 9:13

OBSERVATION
Reading through Exodus there seems to be a real pattern. Pharaoh is the main roadblock standing in the way of Moses fulfilling the mandate he has received intructions by the Lord to deliver God’s people out of Egypt. So, what does God say? “Hey, Mo! Rise up early in the morning and deal with it.” We see the same “advise” [if you will] given to Moses by the Lord in 8:20 and 7:15. Why? Because if Moses wouldn’t have dealt with this issue first thing in the morning the problem would have eventually become worse and worse. Who knows, but perhaps if Moses wouldn’t have been so diligent to obey God’s mandate to rise early in the morning to deal with the issue the children of Israel might have died in Egypt’s slavery.

APPLICATION
Many times in my life there are roadblocks and issues that keep coming back to stop me. If I continue to ignore them and not specifically address them in prayer to Lord I am prolonging the misery and basically spiraling downward. Even as I look at the life of the Lord Jesus, He too got up early to deal with it:

“And in the morning, rising up a great while before day, he went out, and departed into a solitary place, and there prayed.” Mark 1:35 KJV.

I somehow believe that Jesus [in His humanity] needed to address and deal with certain issues, and enemies He was facing so that once He got up from His knees He’s have both the wisdom and the power to deal with it accordingly.

PRAYER
“O Lord, it’s my desire in this New Year to approach your Throne of Grace early in the morning. Help me not allow the worries and concerns of the day to bombard me. Give me wisdom this morning. Give me a grace that’s anointed with a tangible strength and desire to be free in prayer. Because I know, ultimately You want to use me to set many people free. I love You this morning! In Jesus’ Mighty Name, Amen!”

Leave a Reply

