On The Other Hand

Are you guilty of seeing God in just one way? Could it be the reason for a sour relationship with Him? In our devotional this morning we’ll discover the dual nature of God and how it relates to us in the here and now.

Devotions for January 9, 2008
One Hand – and the Other Hand
Pastor Robb Gorringe
Daily Bible reading: Exodus 5-8

SCRIPTURE

And God spoke unto Moses, and said unto him, I am the LORD: And I appeared unto Abraham, unto Isaac, and unto Jacob, by the name of God Almighty, but by my name JEHOVAH was I not known to them. Exodus 6:2-3

OBSERVATION
“God Almighty” is literally [in Hebrew]: El Shaddai. When most people hear that name they tend to think of Michael Card or Amy Grant, but there’s a lot more to it than that. Some of the meanings of El Shaddai are: God of the mountains, the All Sufficient One, the All-Powerful One. Now, on the other hand, JEHOVAH means: I AM THAT I AM, the LORD, and it was also the holiest Name of God. In the Book of Revelation the Name is described as, “Who was, and is, and is to come.” Up to this point God was only revealed to God’s people as “El Shaddai” – i.e. “a powerful God”, but now God is sending Moses to let the children of Israel know that God is not only the All-Powerful One, but He is JEHOVAH, the LORD, who wants to lead them and guide them out of slavery, and into a beautiful place where they can serve Him in freedom.

APPLICATION
At times I have been guilty of seeing God as “way up there in Heaven”, but I fail to see Him as LORD – leading and guiding my life for His glory. I really desire to see God in this balanced way – on one hand: The Mighty God – doing wonders. On the other hand: The LORD – who shepherds me through difficult terrain and feeds me with mercy and grace.

PRAYER
“O Lord, I come to You this morning, not just as an Almighty God, but as the Shepherd of my soul. Lead me beside still waters. Restore my soul. Bring me into a place of rich fulfillment this year so that I can be one who, like Moses, brought a multitude out of the enemy’s clutches, and into freedom in Christ. Apart from You I can do no good thing, but I come to You this morning with an open heart. Change me, mold me into Your image. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

