“Jesus, uhh… where’d you get that?”

Have you ever wondered why certain people seem to have “that special something”? Some people call it the “X-Factor”. On American Idol it’s called, “It!” “You’ve got it!” But where does anyone of get “it”. Jesus had “it”. But the question is, how do you and I get it?

Devotions for January 8, 2008
“Jesus, uhh… where’d you get that?”
Pastor Robb Gorringe
Daily Bible reading: Mark 6-16, Exodus

SCRIPTURE

“And when the Sabbath had come, He began to teach in the synagogue. And many hearing Him were astonished, saying, “Where did this Man get these things? And what wisdom is this which is given to Him, that such mighty works are performed by His hands! Is this not the carpenter?” Mark 6:2-3 NKJV

OBSERVATION
Talk about an observation! The people were right. Where did Jesus get these things? What things? The incredible wisdom to speak and teach of the things of God, and also incredible power to do signs, wonders and miracles. Where? Where did He get these things? I like this question, because everything in the Word of God is there for a reason. It’s not “how”, but “where”. Though Jesus was born as the Son of God – He was also born as the Son of Man. He laid aside His divine privileges when He came to this planet. But He did get these things from somewhere. If there is an actual place where one could get these things, I wonder how many of us would travel to get there? This place might not be as far as we think.

And in the morning, rising up a great while before day, he went out, and departed into a solitary place, and there prayed. Mark 1:35 KJV

The place? The solitary place of prayer. You might even say it was a lonely place. There was no TV, no MySpace, no Starbucks – just stillness of a morning that was yet on the edge of night. If we were to ask Jesus today, “Hey Jesus, where’d you get that ability to do all that stuff?” I’m sure we’d be surprised by His answer. We might think He would have said, “Well, just travel 7,000 miles to a certain mountain, and there you will find the Golden Dragon with a golden egg in his mouth…” But Jesus simply received His power in prayer – that place of intimacy, that place where no man struts, that place where sighing turns into singing, that place where petition is like a key put into the ignition of monster truck and takes off!

APPLICATION
If I were to say that I didn’t want to be like Jesus in these verses above I would be lying. Sure, I want to be like Jesus, i.e. sweet, merciful, forgiving, compassionate, but I’d like a little power too! If Jesus said, “Robb, you want the power? Just travel 7,000 miles….” I wonder if I wouldn’t save all my money to go. But He merely says, “Seek my face, come away by yourself into the place of prayer.” Am I willing to go THAT far? Perhaps the place of prayer isn’t as far as I thought. Perhaps the answer is nearer than I anyone of us even imagined.

PRAYER
“Jesus, I don’t want to show off, or to become a “strutter” of some kind. I merely desire to be like you, and to be used by You in this dark world. I pray that my times of prayer would be marked with the revelation of Your Word and of Who You are. I give Your Holy Spirit free reign to use me in anyway You see fit. Help me to know that true power is found in the place of prayer. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

