STOP TRIPPIN’!


Devotions for January 4, 2008
STOP TRIPPIN’!
Pastor Robb Gorringe
Daily Bible reading: Genesis 43-50

SCRIPTURE

Now therefore be not grieved, nor angry with yourselves, that ye sold me hither: for God did send me before you to preserve life [Gen 45:5]. But as for you, ye thought evil against me; but God meant it unto good, to bring to pass, as it is this day, to save much people alive. [Gen 50:20].

OBSERVATION
I’m sure Joseph didn’t talk in slang back in 1857 BC. But I somehow think that if he did he would have told his brothers, “stop trippin!” In all honesty I am utterly amazed at the level of spiritual maturity in Joseph. His brothers threw him in a pit and then sold him to some slave-traders. How would you feel if someone did that to you? Could you forgive them? Or would you say to yourself, “just you wait – one day when I get my hands on you – I’ll make you wish you were never born!!!”? Joseph had a right to be seething with enough anger to last a several lifetimes. But through all his trials and tribulations he learned something. He learned that God is in control. It’s not that God put Joe in a hole. That’s not God’s nature. But we live in an evil world, and sometimes the devil slips through the cracks and gets in. Here in the scriptures we see Joe in control. Joe isn’t all tripped-up – trying to deal out a dose of fiery retribution. He’s already given all his heartache and frustration to the Lord and has been released from a prison that’s worse than a pit – bitterness, resentment, and unforgiveness.

APPLICATION
I want to be like Joseph here. Because Joseph correctly interpreted his circumstances – God then gave him the grace to handle it. Joe saw the overarching purpose behind all he went thru. God turned his situation around, and made something good out of it. Someone once said, “if the world gives you a bunch of lemons – then make some lemonade!”

The Bible says in Romans 8:28,

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”

I need to know that in everything God is going to work this for my good. He’s got a plan. He hasn’t left His Throne, or gone on vacation somewhere. He’s with me! He’s ruling and reining! And because He is I need to stop trippin’ and start trusting!

Have you been “trippin’” lately? Stumbling over the circumstances? It’s time to get over those hurdles. It’s time to stop trippin’ and start becoming an overcomer!

PRAYER “O Lord, I bless You today for being a God Who is always in control. I may not always understand why You allow certain things to take place in my life, but I know this that I fall on your mercy and understand that you are going to make this work for my good. You are going to so reveal Yourself and glorify Your Name in my life, and many are going to come to Christ because of it. Open my eyes in a fresh way in this New Year, In Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

