Hey Joe, Run the Show!

Guitar Record!

1581 guitars played Jimi Hendrix’s blues-rock hit ‘Hey Joe’ at the Old Town Square in Wroclaw, Poland. This event sets a new Guinness’ World Record for the largest number of guitars simultaneously playing the same song.

hey-joe.jpg

Devotions for January 2, 2008
HEY JOE, RUN THE SHOW!
Pastor Robb Gorringe
Daily Bible reading: Genesis 40-42

SCRIPTURE
“And Pharaoh said unto his servants, Can we find such a one as this is, a man in whom the Spirit of God is? And Pharaoh said unto Joseph, Forasmuch as God hath showed thee all this, there is none so discreet and wise as thou art: Thou shalt be over my house, and according unto thy word shall all my people be ruled: only in the throne will I be greater than thou. And Pharaoh said unto Joseph, See, I have set thee over all the land of Egypt.” [Gen 41:38-41]

OBSERVATION
Leadership is an interesting phenomenon. It’s not the position that makes the leader, but it’s the leader makes the position. In my Scripture reading today it was so clear to me that Joseph had certain character qualities that qualified him to “run the show”, so-to-speak.

1. THE ANOINTING OF THE HOLY SPIRIT WAS UPON HIM. [Even Jesus had this important piece in place before He became someone who people wanted to follow].
2. HE WAS DISCREET. [There’s something about a person who is discreet. They’re not blabber-mouths. They’re not arrogant. They’re not self-important, or wanting everyone to know that they’re more spiritual than everyone else. They’re discreet and have a sweet disposition.]
3. HE POSSESSED WISDOM. [Now, you can have God’s Spirit in you, and have some sort of discreetness about you, but if you don’t have the wisdom of God to lead and direct your ways – then you’ve still got a long way to go. Wisdom isn’t just knowing what to do, but it’s also knowing how to do it. Joseph possessed God-anointed wisdom.]

APPLICATION
Why did God use Joe to “run the show” in Egypt? Was it just so that Joseph could finally have revenge on his brothers, who threw him in pit? Or was it because of the dream that he had when he was younger? I know a lot of people have “spiritual dreams”, but one thing that set Joseph apart was that before Joseph could run the show in Egypt – Joe had to run the show in his own personal life. If I can be qualified in the tough times like Joseph, and not sin, not get bitter, not get even, but rather be one who remains and stays in the Spirit – I can potentially be someone who God uses in a tremendous way.

PRAYER
“Dear Lord, it’s my desire today make sure that certain character qualities are established in my heart. Let Your anointing be on me. Help me to be discreet, especially when I want to lash-out in the flesh. Let the wisdom of Proverbs guide me, and pour out a spirit of wisdom upon me that I might not try to “run the show”, or any “show” for that matter. I want to be faithful to You. I believe there’s a famine in the land where people are in need of the true Bread from Heaven. Please use me to make a difference. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

2 thoughts on “Hey Joe, Run the Show!

Leave a Reply

