2 Different Brothers

2-different-bros-copy.jpg

Devotions for January 1, 2008
2 DIFFERENT BROTHERS

Pastor Robb Gorringe

SCRIPTURE

When Judah saw her, he thought her to be a harlot; because she had covered her face. [Gen 38:15]
And it came to pass after these things, that his master’s wife cast her eyes upon Joseph; and she said, Lie with me. But he refused, and said unto his master’s wife, Behold, my master knoweth not what is with me in the house, and he hath committed all that he hath to my hand. [Gen 39:7-8]

OBSERVATION
According to Genesis chapter 35 Judah and Joseph were brothers. Here in these two Scriptures we seem to see two different brothers. One is sneaky, and looks for an opportunity to engage in sexual promiscuity, while the other isn’t looking to be sexually promiscuous, and yet is propositioned multiple times, but never yields to the temptations. Needless to say – Judah went for the goodies, and was caught three months later [Gen. 38:24-26], and admitted his unrighteousness. Joseph escaped the clutches of Potiphar’s wife, and yet was thrown into prison unjustly. The Bible says… “But the LORD was with Joseph, and showed him mercy and gave him favor…” [Gen. 39:21].

APPLICATION
Though each of these brothers came from the same father, they lived two different lives. No matter what other “Christians” are doing, or how sneaky they might be, I want this New Year for me to be marked with the type of character that Joseph possessed. He walked in the light and understood that his Master had given him everything. I too, must realize that my Master, Jesus, my Father in Heaven, has given me everything. No little temptation ought to jeopardize my relationship with him. I remember when I got saved in 1988, and I was sitting in the Calvary School of Discipleship class studying Acts that the Lord gave me a little saying that I shared with my class…

“Sin is but a passing pleasure, but obedience is a lasting treasure.”

PRAYER
“Dear Heavenly Father, I want to thank you for Your amazing faithfulness in my life this past year. Let me not just be a Christian in name only, a “pastor” in name only, but let me be a man of integrity. Though sin rages like a river of Hell let me soar high above, holding your Word, empowered by Your Spirit, and making a difference in this world for your Glory, in Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

Leave a Reply

